Home > Books, Education, Teaching > Summer is Here

Summer is Here

So I’ve decided to try and keep writing, at least in this format, for the summer, to keep myself . . . writing. After all, I did go to school to learn how to be a writer, though honestly speaking, perhaps the only way for me to get better (and this holds for the general population as well), I just have to write to get better.

So here I am, finally writing something near the mid-point of my summer vacation.

I really wanted to voice my reflections on the past school year, my 5th year as a teacher. Even though I’m officially on summer break, it still feels like I should be in the classroom at this point. I remember telling some of my colleagues that I could probably keep teaching another month or two, which garnered me a few interesting looks.

I’m getting better.

Let’s just say that I’m getting better in the sense of what I need to do in the classroom in order to get my students to learn. I’m very much trying a number of different things and still studying a number of different things to be more effective. I still read, watch videos, and talk to colleagues about what I need to do in order to become better. In a sense, it reminds me of when I was younger and studying tapes of basketball players I wanted to emulate. The only difference is I can’t go out onto the driveway to practice any new teaching method or technique.

I’m still having fun as well, if you can believe it.

Yes, teaching is a very challenging profession (but I’d argue that almost any profession is challenging if you have a passion for it. It should be for crying out loud!), but I think the key for me is still trying to find a way to have fun at whatever I do. Or at the very least, be actively and completely engaged. Whether it’s in the classroom or just poking fun at some of my closer friends at the school, I think I need that reminder to step back and smile every so often. I remember working some jobs where time always dragged along, which prompted more than my fair share of frustrations in the workplace, along with those essential “existential” questions like “what the hell am I supposed to do with my life?”

In all, I’m probably going to continue writing on this idea later in the week. I just wanted to get something down before I drowned it out with something else.

Anyway, here’s a recent book I just read on Education

http://www.amazon.com/The-End-Molasses-Classes-Extraordinary/dp/B005X4909K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1340658913&sr=8-1&keywords=molasses+classes

I remember watching the “Ron Clark Story” on television, mainly because I knew Matthew Perry was playing the title role. I always thought Matthew Perry was underrated as an actor and I was curious to see what he could do in a very different role than what I’d seen from him recently. This led, however, to me getting more interested in Ron Clark himself, and for a brief time, I read up on what he accomplished and how he did so in the classroom (thank you interwebs). Anyway, this book, like other good educational books, outlined a few tips for students, teachers, and parents alike to use at home and in the classroom. It’s a recommended read, I’ll say.

Categories: Books, Education, Teaching Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Please comment :)

Ryan Decasa Photography

Fine Art Landscape Photography

Kristen VanCitters

An Innovative Educator

GregKaiserRealEstate.com

Putting Clients First

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Chalkboard Chatter

"The art of teaching is the art of assisting discovery."

A Beautiful Mess

....life is

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

I AM AN EDUCATOR

Jesse Hagopian's Lesson Plan for Liberation

a blonde and her camera

Capturing your world.

Craft Fear

Handmade horror with a side of suds.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

DIS CRIS

#DEMENTED

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

