Home > Bucket List, Movies, The 80's > Reboots, Sequels, Remakes, and Whatever!

Reboots, Sequels, Remakes, and Whatever!

I started this blog with the idea of writing a little about everything I could think of in terms of interests, hence the “A blog in progress” tagline!  Truth be told, I just wanted to write again.

Of course, when I took this up again, I thought I’d focus primarily on education, education practices, suggestions, questions (must keep improving!) and ideas for reform (which comes with the territory).  Now occasionally, as I already have, I’ll definitely write on other topics I think are . . . important.

Like movies that shouldn’t be rebooted.

I have my reasons of course, mostly due to nostalgia or inside jokes that would lose it’s luster if a “classic” is remade.  I never thought Tron would be rebooted (though technically it was sequel I suppose) and now that Josh Hutcherson and Chris Hemsworth are very popular due to a few “indie” films this summer, I hear the Red Dawn reboot is now back on (WOLVERINES!!!).  Footloose was already redone along with the Karate Kid.  And if you follow any sort of movie news, you also know the latest Ghostbusters movie is struggling mightily to make its way back to the silver screen.

Honestly, I really don’t have too much of a problem with movie reboots or remakes.  After all, I am a consumer of this industry and more often than not, my curiosity gets the better of me and I’ll end up watching these movies anyway.  Kind of a “can’t dislike if you didn’t try” sort of philosophy.  Anyway, here are some movies I hope they don’t remake.

These are not in any particular order:

  •  Sword and sorcery.   A nerd’s dream.  With “In-his-prime” Val Kilmer, who’s prime extended for quite some time between the 80s and 90s.  However, I’m not sure if this has enough pull to remake, though it’d be interesting if George Lucas wanted to give this the ole “extended edition” treatment and actually have it work.

  • Fact:  I am being Jack Burton this Halloween, thus checking off something from my bucket list (Another character I’d like to try for Halloween . . . Samurai Jack).   This could be a possibility for a remake, though I’m not sure how the newer interpretations of these characters could top the originals.  The only thing I would be interested in seeing  are the special effects, which could something incredible.  However, that’s definitely not enough reason just to remake it.

  • I don’t need to say anything here do I?


  • Like Willow, I’m not sure this has enough going for it, but this was another movie on re-run during the summers of my childhood.  Yes, I wanted to find my own, decrepit boat on a beach, fix it up with a few of my friends and one subtly beautiful singer, destroy a Ferrari in order to utilize its engine, and win some sort of regatta against a stereotypical jock who had a young Jeremy Piven as a friend acting like a d-bag.  You know, normal 10 year old stuff.

Anyway, if you are reading this, any movies you’d like to see left untouched?  Oh, Untouchables!  That’s another one!

Categories: Bucket List, Movies, The 80's
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Please comment :)

Ryan Decasa Photography

Fine Art Landscape Photography

Kristen VanCitters

An Innovative Educator

GregKaiserRealEstate.com

Putting Clients First

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Chalkboard Chatter

"The art of teaching is the art of assisting discovery."

A Beautiful Mess

....life is

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

I AM AN EDUCATOR

Jesse Hagopian's Lesson Plan for Liberation

a blonde and her camera

Capturing your world.

Craft Fear

Handmade horror with a side of suds.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

DIS CRIS

#DEMENTED

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

