Home > Education, Geeky, Television > School is in Session

School is in Session

I took last week to get myself back into the flow of running a classroom again.  I’m still in the process of doing so, even with the second week in full swing.  Every day, the class gets closer and closer to where I think they should be, at least in terms of management and I can’t wait until it does.  This year has been a little “rough around the edges” as I’ve told a few people, but I think they can get there and be the classroom I think they can be.  They’re just taking a little longer than other classes I’ve had in the past.  Some classes get there within a week, others within a few hours (those are the classes you remember fondly).  Anyway, I think I’ll write more about this on Friday.

Since school is in session, I thought I’d hop back onto a train I once started.

A few months back, I decided to start watching Dr. Who, at least the rebooted version that started in 2005 on the BBC.  I was gathering up steam, but then the CRTs came around and I got rather busy.  I didn’t think I’d pick it up again, until I saw this video below:

The video above was a part of a list about 20 Science Fiction moments that would make you cry.  I definitely recommend checking out that link as well.  Unless, of course, you have no heart which means I can’t help you.  

Anyway, after watching that video, I’ve started binge watching Dr. Who episodes starting from Saturday night (yes, I wild party animal I am).  I got through the first season with Eccleston as the Doctor and I’m just about done with Season Two, with Tennant at the helm.  I think I may have to reserve judgment about a favorite Doctor until I’ve caught up.  However, I did sneak a peak at the actual “Vincent and the Doctor” episode so I do have a little exposure to Matt Smith as the Doctor.

Anyway, like a few other “cult” shows out there, the mythology behind show absolutely fascinates me, especially when more of the characters are flushed out and left exposed (in a good way).  What’s even better (at least in my opinion) is that some of the villains, and there are some incredible ones within the Dr. Who universe, get time to develop their character.  It’s subtle how the writing builds these “antagonists” then completely gives them another facet to their personality.

It just makes me smile.

I also think a small part of me is infatuated with Rose Tyler, but I think that should be given, correct?

Anyway, the Doctor has already climbed the charts in terms of favorite characters in television or film.  Unfortunately, I’ve stopped watching for tonight (possibly) but I can’t wait until “school is in session” with the Doctor.

And yes, I also just saw the episode where the Doctor was a teacher . . . and apparently Giles from Buffy the Vampire slayer was the “Headmaster.”  It was nice seeing Anthony Stewart Head as a bad guy!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Please comment :)

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Ryan Decasa Photography

Fine Art Landscape Photography

Kristen VanCitters

An Innovative Educator

GregKaiserRealEstate.com

Putting Clients First

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

Digital Dimensions

Blog about anything related to Blogging. Post any job related to Blogging / Digital Marketing for free.

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Chalkboard Chatter

"The art of teaching is the art of assisting discovery."

A Beautiful Mess

....life is

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

I AM AN EDUCATOR

Jesse Hagopian's Lesson Plan for Liberation

a blonde and her camera

Capturing your world.

Craft Fear

Handmade horror with a side of suds.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

DIS CRIS

Just Click It

